Posted by: bshelley | April 5, 2008

Seeking God’s Heart- by Bryan Shelley

Entry for April 7, 2008

Today’s Verse: 1 Corinthians 15:26 The last enemy that will be abolished is death. NASB

(tissue warning)

We can all too easily get desensitized to death. It is on TV shows, movies and newspapers. It seems almost surreal, that is until it hits closer to us. The first time I can remember seeing someone in a casket was my Great Grandmother Rose Cook in Oklahoma. She lived well into her nineties and had been able to live in her own home pretty much until the end. So, it was not tragic in the sense of being a young person struck down in their prime or a child. It was a semi-sweet parting. She had been a delight to get to know. I asked her one time how it was that she came to be in Eastern Oklahoma and she told me the story of how just a few years after the Civil War she had ridden there with her family on the back of a buck board wagon. I was stunned at the time that something that to me was ancient history in a book was actually part of her memory. She left this life and went on to eternity beyond. She is in God’s care now, I know that. Closer to home was when my dad died. I was actually holding him in my arms when he passed. I miss him. Even today, at family gatherings I catch myself looking for him out of the corner of my eye. You know they are gone, but you still somehow expect them to walk back into your life and fill the hole they left. It is certainly comforting to know that they died in the Lord. Because of that, we have the assurance of being reunited when “then comes the end” for each of us, or all of us depending on when Jesus returns. I wonder why death has been saved for the last enemy to be defeated? It is the nature of mortal bodies to run down. Some after a long while and for some even before they get started good. We get reminded that regardless of how many years we walk in this life, it is still just as transient and fleeting as a vapor. There was an eternity before creation and there is an eternity beyond. We just walk this life for a brief period of that. There are so many who have not called Jesus “Lord”, yet I still find myself at times yearning, “come soon Lord Jesus”. We can look forward to the day when indeed Jesus abolishes death and leads us to the Father triumphant. We can have precious memories and precious hope of even better days at home again, at peace in His presence. Until then, we serve, we toil, we cry, we rejoice. Thank you Lord for all the days you have to carry me. For it is then that I know your love the best.

Leave a Reply

Categories

