Posted by: bshelley | March 27, 2008

Seeking God’s Heart- by Bryan Shelley

Entry for March 28, 2008

Today’s Verse: Hebrews 12:9 Furthermore, we had earthly fathers to discipline us, and we respected them; shall we not much rather be subject to the Father of spirits and live? NASB

I had almost forgotten about the reset button on toddlers. We recently had our daughter and son in law move in, but more importantly our 18 month old granddaughter. What a delight it is to have them all around. Our youngest son is still at home, but since he is sixteen it has been a while since we had little ones around. We did our best at kid-proofing the house. Our efforts did not even come close. Little Hailey is just plain curious about everything. As a result of the combination of her curiosity and sometimes rebellious nature, she hears the word “no” quite a bit. I have often seen desperate an embarrassed parents struggling with kids in public situations where the kid has just melted down. No distraction, cute little song or anything will cajole them to return to their cute state. I learned that it takes different things for different kids, but for some, the “reset button”, located square in the middle of their bottom, works surprisingly well. It is especially good if it is saved for those “special” occasions. Works great. God has to discipline us as well. He could have child-proofed the world and removed all temptation. He chose instead, out of love, to give us the choice to choose His ways or not. Jesus says that He is like the vine-dresser. For the vines to grow strong and produce much fruit they must be pruned and tended. Being the “prunee” is about as much fun as being the unruly kid who requires a “reset”, but it is out of love that we discipline and are disciplined. Sometimes we look up at the sky and ask why am I going through this? If we are being disciplined, made stronger, we are being loved. It is not love to withhold discipline from a child and God would not be the loving Father He is unless He does the same. Instead of threatening to call CPS on God, maybe we should be thankful that He cares enough about us to want our best. Thank you Lord for your loving kindness especially when your are disciplining me. It is in those times that I know you are loving me that I might live.

Responses

  1. That was a really good analogy. Thank you for sharing.

  2. Thanks Candice. I just try to use the things in my experience to better understand and apply God’s word to my life. If I come off preachy at times, it is only because I am preaching to myself about an area in my life that needs attention. If you have a blogsite, please share it that I might have the opportunity to see your thoughts. God bless you.

  3. I do. It is http://rescuedbygrace.wordpress.com/. Probably not nearly the encouragement your site is. 🙂 Thank you again.


Leave a Reply

Categories

