Posted by: bshelley | March 26, 2008

Seeking God’s Heart- by Bryan Shelley

Entry for March 27, 2008

Today’s Verse: Matthew 12:33 “Either make the tree good and its fruit good, or make the tree bad and its fruit bad; for the tree is known by its fruit.” NASB

You might remember the famous Barbara Walters interview question of President Jimmy Carter, “If you were a tree, what kind of tree would you be?” Oddly enough, I don’t remember what the answer was. I suppose I remember the question because of how stupid I thought it was at the time. Given the context of the interview, I suppose I still think it would be an odd thing to ask. What possibly could we ascertain from an answer like cottonwood, weeping willow, ash, ponderosa pine and the like? I remember one time in a team building type class we were asked whether we would consider ourselves to be a bear, lion, St. Bernard or a fourth one I don’t remember. Maybe an owl. We were to go to the corner representing our choice. I chose a corner randomly since the relevancy was lost on me at the time. This whole line of thinking came about because as I was looking for interesting devotional verses today and, lo and behold, we see Jesus asking the “Barbara Walters” question. Or, I suppose it was visa versa. At any rate, there are not hundreds of options for answers to His query; only two. Are you a good tree or a bad tree? Honestly, I imagine that there are not too many people who would answer that they consider themselves to be a bad tree. In fact, lots of folks are just struggling to keep a few more “good” deeds done than “bad” ones. Their hope is to tip the scales of God’s judgment in their favor at judgment. Of course their premise is not a Biblical one since we cannot be good enough without first clothing ourselves in Christ’s righteousness. Being a good or bad tree is a function of heart condition. Have we let God perform the circumcision on our hearts that removes the fleshly and replaces it with the Spirit and marks us forgiven, debt paid? (Colossians 2:12-13) Trying to produce good fruit apart from Christ is vanity. Look at the kind of fruit being produced by your life right now. Is it good fruit or bad fruit? Are you a “Christ tree” or some other? Jesus says the fruit you produce comes forth from the heart. The question to ask yourself is not “What kind of tree are you?”, but rather, “Who’s tree are you?” Don’t be surprised when you get asked that question.

Responses

  1. Thank you. I have been blessed by the last two post of yours and appreciate your taking th etime to share them. If you have time check out my site and let meknow what you think. I hope it blesses you like you have me. Here is teh link:

    http://anuncommongrace.wordpress.com/

    In Christ Alone,
    Darian

  2. I appreciate all the work you obviously put into your blog site! Thanks for the invite. I set your blog up as a favorite on my computer as a reminder to visit often. God bless your words and work in His kingdom.

  3. bshelley,

    I found you from following a link from my stats page. I agree with Darian! These are great meditations. Thanks for sharing them with us.

    As for which tree….I feel more like a blade of grass most of the time: no fruit to speak of and easily mown down.


Leave a Reply

Categories

