Posted by: bshelley | March 24, 2008

Seeking God’s Heart- by Bryan Shelley

Entry for March 25, 2008

Today’s Verse: 1 Peter 4:9 Be hospitable to one another without complaint. NASB

I still have to chuckle a bit when I run into the occasional “no whining” signs. I just saw one again the other day at a customer service counter. I caught myself this morning whining. I don’t know if it counts since I was whining to myself. My car had run down to fumes again and I had to get at least some gas or be afoot. The price of gas keeps me from filling up anymore. My whine-o-meter pegs out. I know, I know, it is the same whether I fill up once or put in a little four times. Am I whining? I confess. Today’s verse got me to thinking about this whole subject, which is the way I pick verses by the way. I read a number of different passages and if one sort of jumps out and gets me going, well that’s what you see. We are called to be hospitable to one another. In the context of the passage, it goes beyond asking if someone else would like more tea since you were getting up anyway, right? The caption in my Bible above chapter four says, “Keep fervent in your love.” God has gifted each one of us in different ways. We are to be hospitable in their use for the serving of others. In doing so, we are reflecting His love. If everyone was utilizing their spiritual giftedness to serve others, we would all be not only giving, but also receiving all the time. When the church is doing what we should, it should be a place full of people striving to constantly serve others. We would not be coming to be filled, but rather to make sure everyone else is served and filled to best of our abilities to share from our gifts with them. We are called to do just that every day as what the apostle Peter calls “good stewards” of God’s grace. Oh my, when it is put like that, the last thing I want to be doing while I am being a steward of God’s gifts is to have the wrong motives in my heart. Thank you Lord that I had the money to put gas in my tank today. Use it and me today to serve up some good old fashioned Christian hospitality to others that I might be found with a thankful servant’s heart. No whining.

Leave a Reply

Categories

