Posted by: bshelley | March 20, 2008

Seeking God’s Heart- by Bryan Shelley

Entry for March 21, 2008

Today’s Verse: Matthew 8:26 He said to them, “Why are you afraid you men of little faith?” Then He got up and rebuked the winds and the sea, and it became perfectly calm. NASB

Sometimes you don’t know the level of your faith unless it is tested. Years ago, I was out on lake Pontchartrain with friends in their 28′ sailboat. The lake is 26 miles across and is more like a sea than a lake when a storm comes up. We were pretty far out and saw a squall line coming up and began heading for shelter. We were hit by a 65 knot straight line wind which knocked us over like a toy boat. I was thrown behind the boat with the gas can (which fortunately for it was still attached to the boat by a hose). And no, I did not have a life jacket on either. I concede that was dumb. MY friends began yelling at me to get back to the boat quickly. I did not understand why until all of a sudden the boat righted itself (600 lb keel I did not know about) and it took off like it had been shot out of a cannon with the sails full of wind. I now found myself in three foot swells with nothing to hold onto but hope someone would get close enough to see me in the heavy rain and waves. The forty five minutes I was out there treading water seemed like an eternity. As I could, I would shoot myself up on a rising wave and flail my arms my arms to be seen which got rather tiring. Interestingly enough, I learned something very important about my faith that day. Although I was in grave peril, I had a peace about me as I pondered what would happen if no one got to me in time. I knew I was God’s and He was there with me. I knew that leaving this world was to enter His loving embrace and I was very much ok with that. I was finally spotted by a boat as the storm passed and pulled me on board thoroughly exhausted, but with a heart warmed by the touch and very presence of God in the storm. He is there. His promises are true. How do I know? Because the Bible tells me so.

Responses

  1. Bryan, I believe you can also say that you know having experienced His presence in the midst of a very real and literal storm that could have taken easily taken your life!

    Having been near death myself I understand the peace and comfort that passes understanding when facing eternity where we will be forever with the Lord…
    How awesome that the same peace can fill our hearts when we enter into and experience His presence now. We are so blessed to be known and loved by God!

    Thank you for sharing your testimony; may Jesus love, grace and presence bless your life today!

    Susan


Leave a Reply

Categories

