Posted by: bshelley | March 12, 2008

Seeking God’s Heart

Entry for March 13, 2008

Today’s Verse: James 5:8 You too be patient; strengthen your hearts, for the coming of the Lord is near. NASB

I came across something I really liked a couple of weeks ago in some reading. Like most things that end up by some means in my brain, I don’t remember the source. That also likely means that after several uses or an ever shorter period of time, I will become convinced that I thought it up myself. All that said, I have closed the last two week’s church services out with the statement that was attributed to a church elder. He would always close out the Sunday services with the statement, “We are one Lord’s day closer to heaven than we have ever been.” I like it. I plan on using it to close out every Sunday service I preach from now on. When the first century readers of the letter we know as James was first read, I wonder what they thought was the intended time frame for the fulfillment of this promise of Christ’s second coming? Time is kind of funny. I have spent days that seemed endless during times of trial and loss. I am always reminded of how time can be blurred when I visit people in the hospital. Time there seems to almost stand still marked only by unpredictable daily visits from the doctor. It is easy to lose track of what day it is. On the other hand, the time between when I was 20 and now seems to have just zoomed by almost on fast forward. We all need to be reminded to live today to the fullest, for tomorrow will soon be here. Many cults and errant “prophets” have attempted calculate the date of Christ’s soon coming. This seems like an exercise in futility since Jesus said that not even He, but only the Father knew the hour. I am certain that the early brothers and sisters in Christ hoped for Christ to come for them soon. He did ultimately, as a matter of fact, for all who are in Him are home with the Father. I do think that we need to keep the thought that eternity is only one breath away. If God, in His infinite wisdom, decides to tarry for another two thousand years, that’s His business. We, however, need to be reminded that regardless of when that date is for the world, we all have an appointment with eternity when we cross over from this life to the next. At that point, the die is cast. No “do-overs” or “round tuits” at that point. It is good to be reminded of that progression of time towards the fulfillment of all things. We are certainly “One Lord’s Day closer to heaven than we have ever been.” Live this day in that knowledge. Live it for Him.

Leave a Reply

Categories

