Posted by: bshelley | March 11, 2008

Seeking God’s Heart

Entry for March 11, 2008

Today’s Verse: Mark 16:2 Very early on the first day of the week, they came to the tomb when the sun had risen. NASB

I recently inquired where the baptismal certificates were located since we had several baptisms and I wanted to get them one. I had only been here a few months and this is the first time I had thought to ask. Discussion ensued and finally someone remembered that they were in the secretary’s office possibly in one of the drawers. The next day when I had a few extra minutes I went in to see if I couldn’t locate them. After a brief search, I came across the official “baptismal certificate” book. Excited at my find I read one over and my joy turned to dismay. It reads, “I certify that, in obedience to our Lord Jesus Chris, and in imitation of His example, __________ was this day, buried with Him in Baptism.” That’s it. Just a place for a signature and a date at the bottom. It does have a lovely nature scene in the background of a peaceful looking creek or pond. Frankly, it seems a bit more appropriate for a funeral than a baptism. Where’s the part about “raised up to a new life in Christ Jesus, forgiven and having received the gift of the Holy Spirit?” I understand that death to our fleshly selves is part of the process, but I was floored that the “Good News part” was left unsaid. Maybe in some circles it is politically incorrect to talk about what happens in baptism, but for goodness sakes, if we can’t get beyond the death and talk about the resurrection, what do we really have? In today’s verse Mary Magdalene, Mary and Salome were just about to discover the greatest news of history…Jesus is risen! We obey in baptism a risen Savior. We rise up out of the waters of baptism saved, forgiven and with the absolute hope that because God raised Jesus, He not only raises us to a new life from the baptismal waters, but also He will raise us up to an eternity in heaven in His presence. Can I get an Amen? Needless to say we are getting new baptismal certificates this week. May you live this day in the assurance of your life in Him, sealed with the promise of the Holy Spirit, raised to a newness of life in His service. Live it like you believe it. Don’t settle for a death in Christ, but rather have a life in Him today.
Leave a Reply

Categories

